PG Department of Zoology

About the Department

The Department of Zoology was established under the Faculty of Science in the year 1974. to provide quality education to ignite the mind of young stakeholders who are keen to continue their studies in various fields of animal sciences.

The department offers as well as Ph.D. Programme in basic and applied area in the Subject. Over the period it has been recognized both at national and International levels.

The department houses developed an excellent library with over 1352 selected books on Zoology, Fisheries, Entomology, Cell-Biology, Helminthology, Biotechnology and other branches. The library has more than 100 doctoral dissertations and project reports.

It has class rooms with faculties like OHP`s and slide projectors, Green Glass writing board and Smart Board.

The department had the privilege of having satellite interactive terminal since 2008 established by Vigyan Prisar, an autonomous organization set up by the Department of Science and Technology, Govt. of India for popularization of Science Education in the country. With multicasting with Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO), Bangalore.

Former HoD's

Sr.No. Name Mobile Email Id Period
1 Dr. B. P. Pandey N/A N/A 01.07.1974 - 31.08.1976
2 Dr. A. P. Jha N/A N/A 01.09.1976 - 31.07.1980
3 Dr. S. Pandey N/A N/A 01.08.1980 - 27.02.1993
4 Dr. A. K. Pandey N/A N/A 28.02.1993 - 27.06.1994
5 Dr. S. W. Karim (Addl.) N/A N/A 28.06.1994 - 30.10.1998
6 Dr. N. K. Dubey N/A N/A 1.11.1998 - 12.09.2008
7 Dr. K. P. Verma N/A N/A 13.09.2008 - 31.01.2009
8 Dr. K. P. Sinha N/A N/A 01.02.2009 - 31.01.2012
9 Dr. A. K. Pandey N/A N/A 01.02.2012 - 30.09.2014
10 Dr. (Smt) K. Pandey N/A N/A 01.10.2014
11 Dr. D.N. Mishra N/A N/A 03.10.2017 - 15.04.2017
12 Dr. B.S Jha N/A N/A 16.04.2019 - 28.02.2022

Faculty Members

Sr.No. Name Designation Mobile Email Id Photo
1 Dr. Ajay Nath Jha Associate Professor & HEAD 943106699
2 Dr. Shushovan Banik Assistant Professor 9340904239
3 Dr. Parul Banerjee Assistant Professor 8448568274
4 Dr. Atanu Banerjee Assistant Professor +91 98622 83752

Achievments of Faculty Members

  • Dr. Kalyani Pandey, Prof. & Head, elected as sectional Recorder for the section of Animal, Vet and Fisheries since 102nd (2014-15) and 103rd (2015-16). Indian Science Congress and recipient of B.N.Pandey Gold Medal award at Kalyani University, Kalyani.
  • Prof. B.S.Jha, recipient of Gold Medal (2 in nos.) in recognition of contribution to research in life sciences. He is on editorial board of three research journals and consultant editor of who`s is who. USA.
  • Dr. B.K.Jha, Associate Professor is co-ordinator of Satellite Interactive Terminal of L.N.Mithila. University, Darbhanga.

Area of Specialization

  • Dr. B.S. Jha :- Cell & Molecular Biology, Aquatic Toxicology, Histochemistry.
  • Dr. M. Nehal :- Cell Biology, Biochemistry,Molecular Genetice, Biology of Ageing.
  • Dr. B. Singh :- Celluar Physiology, Mammalian Ageing, Environmental Biology.
  • Dr. Dr. A. N. Jha :- Ecology, Biochemistry, Ethology.
  • Dr. S.K.Verma :- Mycotoxicology, Fish Physiology, Environmental Toxicology and Ecology.
  • Parul Banerjee :- Molecular Genetics and Evolution, Biological Techniques.

Achievments of Students

  • Ms. Ankita Amrit, student of semester III was awarded. 1st position both in debate and elocution in Inter Colleges Youth Festival, 2015 held at J.N.College Madhubani. She also participated in Taurnotsava, 2015, 30th Inter University East Zone Youth Festival in debate, elocution and quiz.
  • The Department is well represented by its alumni in various National and International Institutions as faculty members, researchers and administrators.


  • National e-Conference On Bioremediation and Detoxification of Environmental Pollutants 28/01/2021

Student Progression

  • Net – 04
  • BPSC – 01
  • IRS – 01
  • IFS -01

Infrastructural Facilities

  • Library : Provision of Reading Room & Xerox
  • Seminar Hall : 01
  • Internet Facilities Staff/Students : Not Available
  • Total Number of class rooms : 02
  • Students laboratories : 02
  • Research Laboratories : 03
  • Wash Rooms : 03
  • Common Room : Nil
  • Facilities for Woman : Seperate girls washroom
  • Ph.D. in last 2019-20
  • Male 05 Female 06

Supporting staff

Sl. No Name Designation Mobile E-mail id Photo
1 Sri Suresh Paswan Lab-in-Charg 8002354646 N/A
2 Sri Sriram Mishra Peon 9279821127 N/A
3 Sri Mehi Lal Peon 7654757247 N/A
4 Sri Buchi Ram Sweeper 7079939491 N/A
5 Sri Mohit Kant Jha N/A N/A N/A