Department of Music & Dramatics

About the Music & Dramatics

The department "University Department of Music & Dramatics", L. N. Mithila University, Kameshwarnagar Darbhanga was conceived on 10th October 1984 at Kalyani Bhawan where the department is established at present. It was inaugurated by Hon'ble Shri Chaturbhuj, Director, AIR Darbhanga. Dr. C. D. Singh, Hon'ble (Vice-Chancellor), Hon'ble Dr. Surendra Jha (Pro-Vice-Chancellor), Dr. Mahendra Thakur (Registrar), Shri Ritunath Jha (Development Officer) were leading in chair. Late Dr. Chandeshwar Jha vocalist & Music writer, was the founder teacher and Head of the Department. The department has acquired the well built Raj Darbhanga "Kalyani Bhawan" and Raj Darbhanga "Danbee House". 'Padmashree' Pt. Ram Chatur Mallick was one of the teacher in the department and it is a pride for us, Pt. Ganesh Kant Thakur was also one of them who have made landmarks. Pt. Ramji Mishra, renowned musician to Darbhanga have also promoted the Department as much as possible. Pt. Balakant Jha was also a lecturer. 'Padmashree' Pt. Siyaram Tiwari was a member of the academic session in the Department. Their contribution to music is historical and memorable. The department produced so many scholars in India. After one year on 5th October 1985 the Department was attached with subject Dramatics. Dr. Chaturbhay, Dr. Bhaktinath Singh Thakur, Dr. Avinash Chandra Mishra, were the learned Teacher of Dramatics. At Present the Postgraduate department of Music is manned by two permanent and one Part Timer. Teachers are Dr. Pushpam Narain, Dr. Lawanya Kirti singh 'Kabya', Dr. Mamta Rani Thakur& Dr. Ved Prakash respectively. And Post-graduate department of Dramatics is manned by six visiting teachers. Dr. S. K. Thakur, Dr. S. Kumar, Mr. H. Labh, Mr. B. Sah, Mr. M. N. Choudhary, At Present four year one Certificate courses Mithila Folk Music, Mithila Painting, Instrumental Music & Acting are running on for session 2017-18

The Department under faculty of Humanities of L. N. Mithila University, Darbhanga since its inception, had never looked back and is successfully giving training to the students in the field of Music & Dramatics. Since its inception, the important landmarks of its journey of the years are many kind of academic and cultural sessions i.e. seminars, workshops, Lecture-Demonstration, cultural events and stages etc. The Department is under Faculty of Fine Arts.

Purpose of establishment- Mithilanchal had a glorious cultural, Musical & Dramatic background, there were several Gharanas of classical & Mithila accent of Music & Drama also. In the past year the socio-economical educational & development of our society was totally based on focal classical based Music & Drama, specially the legend of Mithilanchal Folk and classical Music & Drama honorable Vidyapati, Umapati, Jyotirishwar etc. were the main resources of our society. Just to fulfill the requirement of the education of Music & Drama of Mithilanchal, the university started a separate dept. in the name of university department of Music & Dramatics for each and every desire persons. Status- presently more than 98% passed student have got government job, semi government, contractual service as well as free lancer job.

Requirement-As per the demand and achievement ratios are increases, the university is not capable to full fill the demand of increasing ratio of demand and achievements. In our option must have a separate campus in which modern equipped class rooms, Practical rooms, Wi-Fi connected libraries, cameras and other instruments for recording a theatre compressing best quality of sound effect, light effect, modern technical effect and a huge generation set, a open air Theater for Nukkar Natak, laghu Natak & full length Natak, and not in last but least a separate hostel for boys & girls with sound proof Riyaz halls. Etc. must be available for continuous and comprehensive education of music & drama.

Former HoD's

Sr.No. Name Mobile Email Id Period
1 Dr. Chandeshwar Jha N/A N/A 10 oct 1984 - 31 March 1993
2 Dr. Avinash Chandra Mishra N/A N/A 01 April 1993 - 10 Sept 1997
3 Dr. Lawanaya Kirti Singh ‘Kabya’ N/A N/A 25 August 2017 - 06 Sep 2020
4 Prof. Pushpam Narayan N/A N/A 26 August 2014 - 24 August 2017
5 Dr. Mamta Rani Thakur N/A N/A 7 Sep 2020 Onward