Department of History

About the History

Since establishment in 1974, the Department of History has been imparting historical knowledge of par excellence to students, research scholars and the society as a whole through teaching, writing, discourses, talks, extramural lectures, seminars, conferences and workshops. The Department has credit to promote the historical studies of Mithila region. It has also contributed much to the mainstream of historical studies of the country. Eminent historians of the country like Professor R. S. Sharma, Professor Vijay Kumar Thakur, Professor K. N. Panikkar, Professor D. N. Jha, Dr. Vivekanand Jha, Professor Aniruddha Ray, Professor J. N. Sarkar and others have visited the Department from time to time. Interaction with the esteemed historians and contributions to the historical studies are the regular feature of professional historians of the country like Indian History Congress, Mithila Itihas Sansthan, a well recognized organization of historical studies.

Regularly weekly seminar/quiz/elocution and tutorial and counselling classes are organized for students to develop their knowledge, skill and personality. Through a series of Ph. D. research projects in large number and archaeological survey of various sites of Mithila region, the department has not only promoted and explored the knowledge of history and culture of Mithila but also has elevated the cultural consciousness of the people of the region.

Former HoD's

Sr.No. Name Mobile Email Id Period
1 Prof. Chandrashekhar Jha N/A N/A N/A
2 Prof. Binaykrishna Roy N/A N/A N/A
3 Prof. Ambika Prasad Sharma N/A N/A N/A
4 Prof. Ratneshwar Mishra N/A N/A N/A
5 Prof. Sukeshwar Pd. Singh N/A N/A N/A
6 Prof. Tulakrishna Jha N/A N/A N/A
7 Prof. Shankar Jha N/A N/A N/A
8 Prof. Nand Kishore Singh N/A N/A N/A