Department of Economics

About the Economics

The University Department of Economics, L. N. Mithila University Darbhanga is distinguished on the national map of Economics teaching and research since establishment of the University in 1972.

The University Department of Economics, L. N. Mithila University, Darbhanga originated as the P.G. Department of Economics as an extension of the University Department of Economics, Bihar University Muzaffarpur in 1962. Initially, it was sheltered in the C. M. Science College, Darbhanga and later shifted to C. M. College, Darbhanga with the establishment of the L. N. Mithila University, Darbhanga in 1972. The same Department emerged as the University Department of Economics, & is maturing since as such in the 100 years old Nargauna Palace of Raj Darbhanga, During the period of about 60 years of its existence this Department has prospered distinguished on the national and international map of economic teaching and research. The Hon'ble former President of India Dr. Pranab Mukherjee graced by his lecture in the seminar of this Department during his tenure as Deputy-Chairman-Planning Commission, Govt. of India.

The Department has trained vast number of economists who are contributing in the all-round socio-economic development of India. The reputation of the Department is increasing day by day. Under the dynamic leadership of Prof (Dr.) Vijay Kumar Yadav the department is spreading its wings to the new domains of economics. The major fields of research have been Rural Economics, Agriculture Economics, Monetary Economics, Environmental Economics, International Trade, Health Economics, Tourism, Welfare programmes etc Currently the department offers 2-year MA Economics programme.

Former HoD's

Sr.No. Name Mobile Email Id Period
1 Prof. (Dr.) Bachaspati Thakur N/A N/A N/A
2 Prof. (Dr.) A. K. Jha N/A N/A N/A
3 Prof. (Dr.) P. K. Jha N/A N/A N/A
4 Prof. (Dr.) Madaneshwar Mishra N/A N/A N/A
5 Prof. (Dr.) P. K. Jha N/A N/A N/A
6 Prof. (Dr.) P. K. Jha N/A N/A N/A
7 Prof. (Dr.) Ramanand Thakur N/A N/A N/A
8 Prof. (Dr.) Raj Kishor Jha N/A N/A N/A

Faculty Members

Sr.No. Name Designation Mobile Email Id Photo
1 Dr. Ambrish Kumar Jha Professor and Head N/A NA
2 Prof. Vijay Kumar Yadav Professor N/A NA
3 Dr. Prantarati Bhanjan Assistant Professor N/A NA
4 Dr Sheela Yadav Assistant Professor N/A NA
5 Dr. Md Masroor Alam Assistant Professor N/A NA
6 Dr Reena Kumari Assistant Professor N/A NA
7 Mr. Naveen Kumar Assistant Professor N/A NA